>Users:   login   |  register       > email     > people    

Suicide Prevention

Subscribe to Suicide Prevention 9 posts, 4 voices

Login to reply

Female user mta7035 33 posts

You know, the topic in this thread was suicide prevention and with so many mental health patients in jails our job of preventing suicide becomes that much more difficult. Both nursing and corrections officers have to be on top of their game to see the signs if and when they present, that an inmate is at risk.

I’ve been a nurse for more than 30 years and I totally enjoy correctional nursing. You stated a lot of very true points. Most inmates embellish or outright lie about health issues. However, medical staff is caught between a rock and a hard place in making treatment decisions. The pressure from families, administrators and other staff is incredible. I have to remind my nurses constantly that every issue does not require a pill as part of the intervention. Sometimes education takes care of the problem. But most of the inmates behaviors are the same behaviors they displayed on the outside. When I worked in the ER, there were many people who neglected their health until they became so seriously ill that they ended up hospitalized for days or weeks. In the jail, they know that they have access to medical (including psychiatric help). Most of these people take pills or use drugs for any and everything because they don’t want to deal with life, pain or both.This behavior does not stop at the jail house door. If they are drug seekers on the outside, they will be drug seekers on the inside. Lastly, mental health issues are becoming the norm. We have adolescents who were on meds for behavior who become adults with issues. They have been taught all their lives that there is a pill to fix everything. The drug companies love it!!!!

Correction officer jamestown0509 313 posts