>Users:   login   |  register       > email     > people    

Looking For Advice

Subscribe to Looking For Advice 7 posts, 6 voices

Login to reply

Female user Sarge 9 posts

If you go to USAJOBS, all Federal jobs are listed, with the requirements needed. Corrections officers have a maximum age of 36.

Female user Writing Prof 2 posts

You might ask someone to look over the application for you: consider word choice, even spelling, etc. Make that resume and application as professional as possible.

Female user lock 1 post

i was a federal officer i was at fci dublin i was a state correctional officer in florida i applied in may and was hired in october and was given a report date for dec so i think the key is to relocate if the institutions that are need are not close to your home now i do know other officer who have been trying for years but are not willing to relocate good luck to you the last time i heard the hire age was no older than 37 with good credit and a least 4 yrs of correction or that filed or a degree in what i dont recall

Male user Alex 16 posts

Cut off dates for applicants with corrections experience seems a bit silly. Maybe for those with no law enforcement background. Then again up here in Canada it is illegal to give age cut offs.

There are some advantages to hiring mature applicants, besides any experience they might bring. Many of them will have established families already and often see this as a second career to take them to retirement .Meaning lower turn over than those younger guys who might be restless and just leave to try something else or move to policing or something else.

Female user Sarge 9 posts

When I called Alderson I was told if I was over 35 to not even apply. That is their cut off age and they had a 2 year waiting list of applicants.

Male user commander 277 posts