>Users:   login   |  register       > email     > people    

Taser in a juvenile correctional facility?

Subscribe to Taser in a juvenile correctional facility? 11 posts, 8 voices

Login to reply

Getty rf photo of cat and praying mantis Campi 227 posts

See my other post on the other thread like this.

Male user frydd666 22 posts

I personally am in favor of juvenile corrections staff carrying at least OC Spray if not tasers. I am new to working adult corrections, but I did spend a while working juvenile corrections at place that is basically a halfway house. we housed kids from ages 8 to 18. when I started we had 23 kids there and 21 of them were sexual offenders. Most of these kids were under 15. What I experienced is, these are not children anymore. They are in fact criminals. They will hit a person, regardless of who it is.
I have seen these kids given 70mg of thorazine and it didn’t even phase them. In a case like this, minors or not, staff should be equipped and trained in the use of OC spray and tasers. As it was, we were trained in the Mandt system. The only thing I ever saw this was good for was getting staff injured. Some of these jobs do not pay enough that a man, supporting a family, can afford time off, not even for an injury. The theory there was forgive and forget, but when a staff member gets seriously injured and can’t work, it is time to change things around. give the staff a chance to defend themselves, even against minors.

Male user Squeeze 135 posts

Exactly Campi, this gets back to why I refer to the sheep not liking us because we look like the wolf, but by goodness they want us there to protect the flock when the wolf is at the door. It is a tough field for us to be in but we accept that relationship when we began. But it sucks sometimes.

Getty rf photo of cat and praying mantis Campi 227 posts