>Users:   login   |  register       > email     > people    

Medication administration in small jails

Subscribe to Medication administration in small jails 9 posts, 7 voices

Login to reply

Male user DIRTFT 1 post

With electronic medication administration technologies, most of the activities for passing meds are validated to the 5 Rs. The challenge is the jail committing to the technology investments that not only reduce medication risks, provide documentation and improved management of medication therapies, but substantially reduce the number of nursing labor hours utilized. A CO or nurse is challenged to complete the med pass within the time allotted and then review compliance, track observations, etc.

Female user mta7035 33 posts

Wow, I’ve been a nurse for a mighty long time and I am amazed that there are still jails where CO’s pass meds. I run a medical unit in a 255 bed facility and I shudder to think of most of my CO’s having to make a determination about a medication or an illness. My hat is off to you guys.

Remle riflepg irish assassin 286 posts

Where I’m at now the inmates line up next to the nurses station. One at a time they come up, the nurse gives them the meds and they must take them and show the officer on post their mouth for proof. If possible I prefer to never touch the meds. I’m security, not medical.

Halloween 2 Turnkey 9 posts